The Science and Research Council was established by the West Virginia Legislature in 2009 with the passage of House Bill 3229.

The goal of the Science and Research Council is to increase the capacity of the state and its colleges and universities to attract, implement and use cutting-edge, competitive research funds and infrastructure. Members of the council provide expertise and policy guidance to the state regarding federal and state programs including EPSCoR, the Research Challenge Fundand the former Research Trust Fund. Representatives of government, industry, business and academia make up the council.

The Science and Research Council meets two times per year or more as needed to review Division of Science and Research activities.

  • Meeting minutes can be found here.

 

Science and Research Council:

Anne Barth
Executive Director
TechConnect
110 Cyrus Point Drive
Charleston, WV 25314
Phone: 304.444.2918
Email: annebarth2008@gmail.com 

Jack Carpenter
President
Kicking Stones Consulting Inc.
93 12th Street, Suite 1R
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: 304.234.6630
Email: jcarpenter@kickingstonesconsulting.com

Laura Gibson, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research and Graduate Education
West Virginia University
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center
PO Box 9104
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: 304.293.7206
Email: lgibson@hsc.wvu.edu

Fred King, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
West Virginia University
886 Chestnut Ridge Road
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: 304.293.3449
Email: Fred.King@mail.wvu.edu

Carolyn Long
Interim Chancellor
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Boulevard
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304.558.0699
Email: carolyn.long@wvhepc.edu

John Maher, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Marshall University
401 11th St, Suite 1400
Huntington, WV 25701
Phone: 304.696.4748
Email: maherj@marshall.edu

Orlando McMeans, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research and Public Services
Gus R. Douglass Institute
West Virginia State University
PO Box 1000
Institute, WV 25112
Phone: 304.766.4291
Email: mcmeanso@wvstateu.edu

Colleen Nolan, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor of Biology
Shepherd University
301 North King Street
Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone: 304.876.5106
Email: cnolan@shepherd.edu

Steven L. Paine, Ed.D.
Superintendent
West Virginia Department of Education
Building 6, Room 608
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: 304.558.2118
Email: superintendent@wvde.state.wv.us

Earl E. Scime, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
West Virginia University
128 Hodges Hall
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: 304.293.3422
Email: escime@wvu.edu

Michael Norton, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Biotech Science Center 241K
Huntington, WV 25755
Phone: 304.696.3489
Email: norton@marshall.edu

Uma Sundaram
Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education
Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Marshall University
1600 Medical Center Drive
Huntington, WV 25701
Phone: 304.691.1841
Email: sundaramu@marshall.edu

Cabinet Secretary, West Virginia Department of Commerce
West Virginia Development Office
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Building 6, Room 525
Charleston, WV  25305
Phone: 304.558.2234