The Science and Research Council was established by the West Virginia Legislature in 2009 with the passage of House Bill 3229.

The goal of the Science and Research Council is to increase the capacity of the state and its colleges and universities to attract, implement and use cutting-edge, competitive research funds and infrastructure. Members of the council provide expertise and policy guidance to the state regarding federal and state programs including EPSCoR, the Research Challenge Fund, and the former Research Trust Fund. Representatives of government, industry, business and academia make up the council.

The Science and Research Council meets two times per year or more as needed to review division activities.

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Ph.D. (Chair)
Interim Chancellor
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Boulevard
Charleston, WV 25301

Anne Barth
Executive Director
110 Cyrus Point Drive
Charleston, WV 25314

Jack Carpenter
Kicking Stones Consulting, Inc.
93 12th Street, Suite 1R
Wheeling, WV 26003

Ed Gaunch
Cabinet Secretary, West Virginia Department of Commerce
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Building 6, Room 525
Charleston, WV 25305

Laura Gibson, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research and Graduate Education
West Virginia University
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center
PO Box 9104
Morgantown, WV 26506

Fred King, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
West Virginia University
886 Chestnut Ridge Road
Morgantown, WV 26506

John Maher, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Marshall University
401 11th St, Suite 1400
Huntington, WV 25701

Orlando McMeans, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research and Public Services
West Virginia State University
PO Box 1000
Institute, WV 25112

Colleen Nolan, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor of Biology
Shepherd University
301 North King Street
Shepherdstown, WV 25443

Michael Norton, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Biotech Science Center 241K
Huntington, WV 25755

Steven L. Paine, Ed.D.
West Virginia Department of Education
Building 6, Room 608
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305

Earl E. Scime, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
West Virginia University
128 Hodges Hall
Morgantown, WV 26506

Uma Sundaram, MD
Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education
Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Marshall University
1600 Medical Center Drive
Huntington, WV 25701